Madagascar FA boss, Ahmad Ahmad has defeated Cameroon’s Issa Hayatou to become the new President of the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

In the election which held at the CAF 39th Ordinary General Assembly at the African Union headquarters in Addis Ababa on Thursday, March 16.

Ahmad got votes from 34 federations from 54 federations which voted in the election, the remaining votes from 20 federations went to Hayatou.

Ahmad’s win marks a new era for CAF which have been under the leadership of Hayatou since 1988.

In his speech before the election kicked off, the 57-year-old said his first commitment, if elected, as president, is the development of a code of ethics.

CAF Presidency in History

Abdel Aziz Abdallah Salem (Egypt)  : 1957 – 1958

Abdel Aziz Mostafa (Egypt)             : 1958 – 1968

Abdel Halim Mohamed (Sudan)       :  1968 – 1972

Ydnekatchew Tessema (Ethiopia)   :   1972 – 1987

Abdel Halim Mohamed (Sudan)       :   1987 – 1988 (acting capacity)

Issa Hayatou (Cameroon)               :   1988 -2017